Between

Between yesterday and tomorrow I arrive.Noisily, struggling these feet shuffling,

 from the hall to our room, with night bumbling.

Breath of night escapes your lips, 

a rising moon frames your slumbering lips.

Smiling, across the room I slip to your side, 

my lips, find yours, you sigh.

Closely I watch as nights light fills your face, 

I am humbled to find such beauty in this place.

In the nights mountain light I first found your smile, 

three days it took, but I’ve had you all the while.

Praying for some time to come,

Christ will let me be your only one.

Sleep well my queen, resting assured life’s dragons I’ll slay,

Evil of this world your smile forever turns away.

Arriving just in time to crawl into your arms,

Holding you close until morning comes with its alarms.

Between yesterday and tomorrow I arrive.

W.A.Manning©2017

Leave a comment