Today yields 

Understand, things I could and would have done different, I’d do them again.Today yields to tomorrow, not yesterday, so these events, must stay.

Recorded on hearts and angry souls, confused and amused they are told.

What crimes you call for punishment, others see as follies of youth for discussion.

Yes, could I have, would I, yes I would have a few things done other than I did, yes.

Repeating the same chorus without knowing life’s lyrics confuses us.

Errors unreported are errors just the same, I know this is not a game.

Stilled by decisions, formed in haste or without understanding, I could not grow.

Sowing respect, where defeat once grew, your forgiveness I never knew.

For your part, I stand accused, you were not amused, trust each abused.

Differently would these choices we have made, doubting together we’d stayed.

We cannot avert from the past, only can we divert from the future.

Today yields to tomorrow, not yesterday, so these events, must stay.

W.A.Manning©2017

Leave a Reply

