Oh friend

Oh my friend of you I’ve dreamed.Of rushing streams and mountain flowers.

These fields we’ve covered, the nights near fires we hovered.

Of passions powers to forget the hours.

These are the dreams at the end it seems.

Living each step through your pains I coward.

False face of happiness on you I showered.

Unable to chase the fear from this heart.

Strength through each trial you did impart.

Oh for days recollections on nights honest confessions.

Here alone at the end of this road.

Your memory is my only concession.

Still of you I dream at the end of all things.

W.A. Manning©2017

Leave a Reply

