Standing beside

Standing beside my bed.Startled awake from noises in my head.

Are they real these threats I see?

Will each continue to trouble me.

How can I know?

Can I these terrors ever outgrow?

Awake in the darkness.

The light of day I dread.

From these terrors hope fled.

Sweating crimson, life’s waters I tread.

Standing beside my bed.

Once where I lay, visions fill my head.

Will these words written ever be read.

Startled awake from noises in my head.

Lay not with liars, politicians or spies.

Your bed like mine, will you dread.

Confessions and complaints I’ve been fed.

See me now.

Standing beside my bed.

WAManning

Leave a Reply

