Hello, despair hangs on me

hello
despair hangs on me as I return to you
Stabbing like a jagged dagger anxiety rips through this chest
Incessant drumming of a flailing heart muffles my hearing
Still her journey through cancer continues I fear without me
I thank you
That you will keep her safe
Knowing my heart could stand no more
Breaking for her
Take me when she is strong enough
I thank you
Tears erupt from tired eyes as her need grows
She does not ask but I see
Give her no greater burden than now
Leave me till she is stronger
I thank you
Knowing this stress is taking its toll
I soon will know home
But not till she is whole
Healed and strong
I thank you
Oh, and amen
WAM

Leave a Reply

