Father Abe’s prayer

A stripped black ribbon rises up before his eyes
Rushing headlong between night and day skies
Through herding hoofs and screeching rubber
His trials increase without number
Though not from blood my father
I now would have no other
His love so true for my mother
I pray for peace to accompany him where ever
Where ever in his journey he’s bound
Our Lord in his heart is found
Strength of generations I see
All about him your angels will be
Hurt and sorrow daily dog him
Your peace their anger stemmed
Hope his daily guide
As between night and day on this ribbon he rides
Thank you for his journey and trials
For your love, my mother and this adopted child
Father Abe will continue to smile
Amen
WAM

Leave a Reply

