Why me

Whirling chop of blades scattering each mans words as grunting they jump into the green hell…
Thumping puffs mark a trail between shattered shafts of trees and cutting grass above your knees…
Fwip, fwing rounds carry deaths message past my sweating head piercing my boonie and green blouse…
Night returns these sights and sounds, as rifle rounds in my dreams crash around…
What youth is wasted on petty fields where old men’s valor stains crimson peace’s fallow fields..
Here a lifetime I lost at the cost of a few friends, to what ends…
Stories I tell, Hope to myself, sell that a great adventure it was even still I cuss…
What was all this fuss, regardless, in my dreams it remains…
Fear, sweat and others brains, my face still burnt and my lungs hurt as I run into flying dirt…
Why did we go, others to save, worlds to raise, whatever it was, it took all five from the hood…
Why did they go, same reason I suppose, cause we could, we should and we did…
Still there am I, at night, sometimes I cry.
Why me, they deserved to see this part of history..
WAM

Leave a Reply

