Things I have heard

A chilling wail of an orphans cry, wanting call as widows, husbands seek, things I have heard this night…
Roaring crash of metal and glass, cracking stretch of fiery fingers, things I have heard this night…
Angry notes reverberating from shattered walls, tones of a people with great loss moaning, things I have heard this night…
Gentle and sweet, spoken hushed and neat, caressing words of hope, things I have heard this night…
Hands shuffling debris, hissing steam chasing fires grip from a building, things I have heard this night…
Fretful songs of loss turned to prayers, small voices calling for their father, things I have heard this night…
Collective sighs, gathering pyres, for yesterday’s loss, hammers and saws begin a future, things I have heard this night..
Winds swirling roar, tides churning breath, reverberating pings of bullets and things, things I have heard this night..
During the maelstrom, while recovering from fright, prayers of hope undenied, things I have heard this night.
WAM

Leave a Reply

