The son I was

The son I was
Standing here now, looking at the son I was…
Listening to pain filled memories revealing the son I was…
Can you recall, the deeds for which I did fall, I recall the son I was…
Moments of indecision, fruitless passions and derision, noting the son I was..
Hurting for those I’d demeaned, derided or just displeased, that was the son I was…
Peace, standing here, gives me no fear, for the son I was..
Standing in his light, a fathers love I cannot deny, defeating the son I was…
For the brother I was not then, I pray he gives me time again, I’m not the son I was…
For a father now long past, I pray your souls home at last, I couldn’t as the son I was…
Knowing now I made you cry, the mother I have I cannot deny, that was the son I was…
See me here I stand, heart and soul to him I hand, no longer the son I was…
Will you forgive, I’ve done so willingly, to open doors I slammed as the son I was…
Nothing more can I say, for Christ fills my heart when I say, I am no longer the son I was..
WAM

Leave a Reply

