The race

This is the race I had not known to run, this path from the starting gun…
Cast between faith and hope, my lot, this heart with which I cope…
Stepping across this line, starting on quickening time, toward a finish, not only mine…
Under expected minutes, racing faster than human limits, toward an unknown time…
Rugged miles that seem an eternity to last, still I’m going, just not quite so fast…
Others rushing effortlessly past, struggling, grasping, gasping as if each breath is the last…
Suddenly, below my feet, rising up quickly to meet, a trail through mountain meadows…
Ranging between the jagged peaks, other runners their times to beat…
Between the first and last, so grand, one carrying others, and me in his hand…
Had I not prayer, on this course I would not have stayed, others without him stilled in their graves…
This is the race I run, had to run, from the starting gun, had to out of faith I share..
For you, and others if you care, not easy, not fair, but this race we must dare…
Lace up, load up, step onto this course, join me, you’ll see, the end is the race before us…
WAM

Leave a Reply

